Poets logo

Lucille's Daisies

Lucille & Her Lover

By CaladriusPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
2

Each Sunday, I put on a kettle

During my wait, around the house I meddle

.

I will dust and correct the corner of my rug

And then I will push in the chairs and remove any bugs

I will search for some honey, and I am disappointed to find none

.

So I leave my tea on the stove,

I am sure to turn it off though

And then my poor feet ache, so I look for my slippers and my robe

The soft fur convinces me to sit, so my nook is where I go

.

My fingers are stiff, they long for some warmth

But I am too tired and out the window, someone comes forth

A young man who is tall and not handsome, but perfectly simple to the core

His hair reaches for his eyes and his freckles whisper a distorted lore

By my picket fence he stooped, and some flowers he plucked and bore

.

He hurried on and I gasped

My flowers? He stole and now grasps

I am much too late to catch him and I do not know if my energy will last

Meanwhile in the kitchen, my tea cools fast

.

I stand and shuffle to my door

Down my beautiful cobble walkway, my joints are so sore

I look upon my flowers and here a single tear will pour

.

Because there are so many flowers picked

Not enough to kill the growth, only enough to make me feel sick

.

My burnt oranges and deep blues,

My warm yellows and soft purples, too

All of them are there except you;

.

My treasured white daisies are nearly gone.

The only ones I care about and now I am alone

This man does not know it, but my sadness will be long

Until I can catch him and ask him why he's done what he's done

.

There it is, that familiar creeping feeling;

Like wishing to stand and wave goodbye to their leaving

They will turn down the block and the silence is suddenly so sealing

I can only hope they were serious but after enough years, it's revealing

That they will not be back again, so now I try to avoid thinking yet always end up feeling

...

It is Sunday so I put on a kettle

Normally, around the house I would meddle

.

The dust floats in the sunlight and somehow it is calm

My unopened mail on the table lifts and sings their taboo song

I would search for some honey, but I am tired of always finding none

.

With heavy breath, I drag out a chair

I drag and I sit by the sidewalk, slowly and with great care

The sun is warm and a spider and a ladybug give me a small scare

Maybe they are the ones in my house I always remove so fair

.

With a napkin I always scoop them up and then I apologize

Because I am as careful as I can be, but my hand shakes 'til they fall or fly

And I could never squish them or I certainly would cry

Because if I were so small and kind, neither would I want to die

So I ask them to see their way out, they nod, and I sigh

.

But here! Yes, here comes the man

His eyes remain downcast, there are beads of sweat as if he had ran

I wait patiently for his approach and I brace myself so I may stand

But I look down at the spider and ladybug who are on my hand

.

I will not move and disturb them so instead I call

The wind whistles and window shutters knock and fall

The man stoops again and picks a daisy, it causes me to stall

.

I wonder if he can hear me?

I don't think so, not at all.

.........................................................................................................................

I look again for the daisy

They are all I can see

.

I carefully pick one and again I take leave

To turn the corner of this beautiful house

Right off of the property there is a swing and some startled grouse

.

I lay the flower down on stone and am again on my knee

It burns in my throat how I return over and over out of greed

Everyone was devastated, only their condolences made it real

All of them were there, except you, Lucille

.

My storms, they rumble deep and sadness is engraved in my bones

I carved it myself by refusing to move on

The sharp stickers in the grass gently cut my palm

And again I swallow down the thunder I have held onto for so long

From my ribs, I read you what I wrote, tenderly but also strong

.

Eventually I wipe my nose and go to leave

I normally continue down this road but the wind whistles and carries some leaves

I watch as they curl back towards that house, the one that is asleep

When you died, the very walls remembered my grief

.

So I had to leave it, forgive me Lucille

And now our house lays dormant, though the memories reel

I walk towards it again and for you, more time I would steal

.

I look again for the daisies

But they are picked, and I leave the grouse to their grazing.

love poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Caladrius

We are all just trying to find our way in this world. However, in focusing on the simplest things, the way will find us.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.