Poets logo

Lucid Dreams

A poem for the hesitant soul

By FeyrePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

if life is but a dream

I want to be a lucid dreamer

digging myself out of this grave in purgatory

Resurrecting the ghosts of my forgotten hopes

But oh these demons. These fears and insecurities

Shackling my hands and feet, the insidious jailer called procrastination

I’m a prisoner of my mind. A slave to my thoughts

The swirling anxieties that race through my head

The heart palpitations , the beating organ threatening to erupt out of my chest

I fear being judged. But who judges me more than my lower self?

The paralysis of inaction, I just want to stay in bed

Until I realize I can no longer live with myself

I rip the insecurities to shreds. Claws out. I shoot the old me dead.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Feyre

I guess this is my way of journaling. Eventually I hope to write fiction, but I think I need to fight my inner demons first.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.