Poets logo

Lub-Dub

Sounds of a Broken Heart

By Jacklyn HammondPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

The steady sound of my heartbeat made me think that I was strong.

A common misconception. Looks like we all need more protection.

The sound is no longer steady, but quickened and faint.

The pieces now beat separately, a sign that I'm in jeopardy.

How do I get them back in sync?

Forgive? Forget? Pretend I didn't see?

I must forgive, but I can't forget.

After all, I forgot to be leery, and that is clearly what got me here to start.

Too bad I'm not a seamstress, I could mend it up with string.

Too bad I'm not a comedian, I could fills the cracks with jokes.

Too bad I'm not some other girl, whom you'd actually like to coax.

Too bad for lots of things...

The hardest part to swallow is that I love you nonetheless.

You break me, then re-make me, put my patience to the test.

So while the pieces find each other, I'll just smile and carry on.

Maybe I can trick myself into believing that I'm strong.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jacklyn Hammond

Travel Physical Therapist.

Freelance Writer.

Hopeless Romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.