Poets logo

Loves Tragedy

From Coliseum to Elysian Fields

By Kenneth cruzPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
3

My heart once filled with illustrious gold

Is now tattered and filled with holes

For love’s war has taken it toll

A flag or scroll, torn and old

From this battle of attrition I want to fold

It wasn’t done by one

This damage cumulative, from all battle scars tallied a total of their sums

Punic wars won, Trojan horse attacks that couldn’t be undone

Year after year I look past the warnings of prophets and seers

Lovers and friends alike a great show they played, but in the end they struck like Commodus with a poisonous blade

A gladiator of love, I fought valiantly and brave.

Akin to Maximus my heart and spirit were left wounded and frayed

I won’t cry for being betrayed

In the end I only wish one ally would have stayed

Now alone, I take a final bow

Head heavy with a slow stride to Elysian Fields I make way

I’ll spend my last days like a grazing cow

Stumbling off into the sunset my blood trail remains

Dying out of sight is what I vow

sad poetryRequest Feedbacklove poemsFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran14 days ago

    "Lovers and friends alike a great show they played, but in the end they struck like Commodus with a poisonous blade" This line hit me so hard because it's so true. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.