Poets logo

Loveliness

-

By Ashley LimaPublished 6 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
37
Loveliness
Photo by Austin Ban on Unsplash

ladybugs swarm the front door

knocking for an entity that won't answer.

the noxious aroma of pyrazine emits

a reminder that good luck can turn sour.

surreal poetryperformance poetrynature poetry
37

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Lena Folkert6 months ago

    This is so good. Insightful and sensory loved it! 🫢

  • Alexander McEvoy6 months ago

    "Good luck can turn sour" Wow if there was ever a more true statement, I don't I've ever heard of read it. Lovely poem :)

  • StoryholicFinds6 months ago

    love it! congrats! ❀️

  • Abdullah6 months ago

    Well deserving poem

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    This is great, Ashley. Loved the fact that you taught me a new word too. Congrats on it getting Top Story. Loved it!

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    This is a wonderful poem and very deserving of Top Story.

  • Shirsendu Chakma6 months ago

    wow, this was an great poets. Congratulation..... if any one read my story please join me https://vocal.media/authors/shirsendu-chakma

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Now, I have never been a big fan of haiku (I know this isnt haiku, but its brief, succinct, laden) but sometimes someone can do so much with so few, well chosen words and images, and I can recognise the skill of brevity.

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    I had to look up pyrazine and after getting a convoluted explanation and complicated diagrams of molecular structure, I added "in ladybirds" which made it much clearer. Great poem.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    I am learning so many new words!

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    Ahhh, Yes. It's that time a year. A bunch were buzzing by my back door just a few days ago. Congrats, Ashley!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    Pooor ladybugs 🐞

  • Test6 months ago

    Back with congrats! 🀍

  • Sid Aaron Hirji6 months ago

    sad but true, we never think of how fortunate we are. You said it in so few words

  • Such a lovely way to describe that

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Ah, yes, those lovely little stinkers!

  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    Like vampires, they can't come in uninvited. I wish.

  • Addison M6 months ago

    This was clever. Well done.

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    It’s that last line for me that really created a story. Imagining an aroma from baking cookies, feeling like good luck is in the air, then seeing a swarm of ladybugs. But at the same time, the shape of that compound resembles the insect. Meant to be? Loving the depth to my interpretations, haha, even if they make no sense. πŸ˜†πŸ’œ

  • Ian Read6 months ago

    I remember one building in my undergrad had one specific room infested with lady bugs lol. Either way, great imagery and I loved it.

  • Test6 months ago

    Loving the word Pyrazine! Beautifully written though I have never been swarmed by a lovelines -Can't imagine that being particularly lovely! 🀍

  • I'm so afraid of ladybugs and seeing that would have terrified me! πŸ˜… Loved your poem! Hope you're doing well!

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    This poem created a strong and poignant image in my head.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.