Poets logo

Backroads After Dark

A true story

By Ashley LimaPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
16
Backroads After Dark
Photo by Zongnan Bao on Unsplash

I killed a possum tonight;

It snuck underneath my tire.

I felt its violent last breath

from the cab of my car.

I wonder if it knew I tried to avoid it.

Did it think I ended its life on purpose?

That it was nothing but vermin?

Did it realize that I would turn the radio all the way down

To sit in the silence,

In mourning,

Begging for a forgiveness that cannot be received?

Will it haunt my dreams?

I hope it turns into the angel and the devil

that live on my shoulder.

I wish for it to grip its claws into my skin;

Leave marks on the surface;

Draw blood; I deserve it.

Retribution.

Reminder.

Revenge.

I killed a possum tonight;

Was it a punishment for me or for them?

surreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetry
16

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Ugh, I know exactly how this feels. That moment of mourning, of incomprehensible sadness for the barely seen creature running as a shadow across the road before it's killed. You capture it perfectly.

  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    A frozen moment capturing life, death, guilt, survival, and a whole myriad of complex emotions - brilliantly done Ashley!

  • 🥹♥️This is so passionate 😉📝

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    That is so sad, but I know you didn't mean to. I can feel it in your words.

  • Test7 months ago

    Sad. I have to avoid suicidal squirrels all the time. If I die young it will be because of that.... driving into a tree to save the life of a squirrel. Loved the philosophical nature of your poem 💙Anneliese

  • Poor possum 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 But yes, accidents happen 🥺

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Sorry Ashley.. That is no fun at all ! Realistic recap! I’m really paranoid about hitting birds…

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Oh no!!! That's overwhelming, I am sure. Like Donna said, there was nothigyu could do!!!😢💕

  • Joe Patterson7 months ago

    ❤️ your empathy is admirable.

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Sorry about that. My stepfather once ran over a skunk (odor lingered for days). Not so profound for us.

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    That’s such an awful feeling but there was nothing you could have done ❤️❤️

  • Lana V Lynx7 months ago

    So sad. I’m glad you processed it through this great verse.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.