Poets logo

Love

A Kenning poetry format.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
7
Love
Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

A kenning is a type of metaphorical phrase or compound word used in poetry, especially in Old Norse and Old English literature, which replaces a single, concrete noun. It often contains a significant, indirect or symbolic meaning and helps to create vivid imagery. A kenning can involve multiple words, usually two, connected with a hyphen or written back to back. For example, "whale-road" was a kenning used to mean the sea. Bing

My Love

I would never drop out and leave you.

My love is beyond measure Boo.

Will I know what to expect from you too?

Just one quick look and I know you love me, I do.

~

Metaphors are something I will write to

you, about the depth of our love, my dove.

I am an eagle flying through the center of the storm

to get to you by morning my love.

~

Writing a poem is out of the norm

for me and it puts me up a tree

you see

I can rhyme

and even singsong sometime

~

Loving me is loving my family

You are so grandfatherly

with all of our grandchildren

and a parent to our children.

~

No other life in this lifetime for me.

Only you are the right one you see!

love poems
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    You always teach me a new poetry form and I'm so happy for that! You did this so brilliantly!

  • This takes me back. I haven't used or talked about kennings in a long time. But I'll be back in the classroom soon so this is going to the top of my list!

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    love it ❤️

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    💚

  • Abdullah7 months ago

    Your writing is excellence

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.