Poets logo

Love Scares

Heartbreak

By Spendylove AmpofoPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1
Love Scares
Photo by Ahmed Assem on Unsplash

when you broke my heart

i felt the familiar sting of the pain of

loss

the nights became longer and the days

were worse i

missed the golden flares of the sunrise

in the mornings as i sunk

deeper and deeper into the couch

hoping upon hope that you would call me

but the phone never rang and there were

no texts waiting for me

i had to learn the hard way that no

message

was also a message

regret has embraced me like an old

friend

rocking me daily now as i get drunk on

my salty tears i

spend my days on the edge of rage and

it's too

risky to be skipping meals and seeking

peace in the bottom of this bottle of

whiskey

you see i i thought we had had a happy

year there was just so much

left that we hadn't shared but when you

said

you weren't happy here it

tore me apart to know that i hadn't

shown you

how much i truly cared

now all i have are memories from the

past

year collected in jpegs just taking up

space in folders that

i'm afraid to delete because it would

signify that we're really done and

everything gone

and i guess i'm delusional enough to

believe you're still the one

i don't want to get over you i want to

get under you

to taste the sweetness of your tongue as

you plunder me with your love and

ride me like a horse into the sunset

i'm not sorry that i missed a step and

tripped and fell

hard for you i'm only sorry that i

expected you to love me

in a way that i hadn't yet loved myself

but i know now that god had a plan when

he sent you to me

it wasn't you who needed my love it was

me

so if the only way i could find a

treasure that was buried deep within was

to

force me open and help me feel

then i guess it was okay that you broke

my heart and

set me free

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Spendylove Ampofo

I love reading and writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.