Poets logo

LOVE

A Series of "6 word" Stories

By QuirkyMinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I didn't think he’d actually leave.

But i’m glad that he did.

Because he suffocated all my dreams.

Drowned my desires in his tears.

Washed away the person I was.

Asking for help was absolutely futile.

They laughed when I told them.

That’s when I realized the truth.

They would always laugh at me.

“Hah! You? I don't think so.”

I cry these words to him:

“You never even cared about us.

You never even cared about me!

I can’t tell anyone what happened.

And you won’t tell anyone either.”

Thrown into a new world alone...

Suddenly I was by myself again.

Somehow books became my only friend.

I needed to re-boot my heart.

Because I was one step away.

I had happiness in my fingers.

Just a stretch, a string away.

You ask about all my scars.

They litter my body and soul.

I love everyone but myself, see?

Every word left unsaid is written.

I’ve written a few novels myself.

I doubt anyone would read them.

But i don’t care about that.

For these words heal me, whole.

And soon I have a fire.

Because these words were my own.

And I owned every damn word.

And I held my head high.

When they laughed I held higher.

Because I knew my one truth:

Hot coals reside in our hearts.

Fire burns in all of us.

Some just burn hotter than others.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

QuirkyMin

Aspiring writer, sharing articles of personal interest as well as original short stories.

https://linktr.ee/quirky.min

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.