Poets logo

I Know

A Poem 3

By QuirkyMinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I know a woman

who battles depression alone

because she doesn't want to be a burden to her parents.

I know a mother

who puts up with her abusive lover

because she wants her son to have a father in his life.

I know a girl

who dyes her hair bright red

because she feels invisible to the world.

I know a boy

who lived under a bridge

because his mother couldn't afford much else.

I know a brother and sister

who had to grow up without a father

because he thought drugs were more important.

I know a girl

who wanted to die

because she was sick and tired of lies

I know a teen

who dances at clubs

because she needs to feed her two boys.

I know a child

who was taken advantage of

because he knew she couldn't fight back

I know a kid

who at fourteen became anorexic

because someone would always laugh when they ran.

I know a man

who thinks he’s ugly

because he grew up hearing nothing else.

I know a person

who killed themselves

because they couldn't handle the pain they felt.

I know life is hard

because we start off wrong

and we get dealt a bad hand.

I Know.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

QuirkyMin

Aspiring writer, sharing articles of personal interest as well as original short stories.

https://linktr.ee/quirky.min

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.