Poets logo

Love Is...

A Micro Anthology

By Lilly CooperPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 2 min read
12
Love Is...
Photo by Amy Shamblen on Unsplash

Love is so incredibly variable. There is no one correct answer or version. We have love for our families, our friends, our homes and pets.

We love music, art, culture, our communities and life itself. If we are lucky, we may have an occupation that we love.

It goes without saying, not all love is the same, nor is it equal.

The following Micro Anthology explores 4 different view points on love.

By Sai De Silva on Unsplash

For my love, my life.

Dedicated to my son. One day I hope he will be old enough to read and appreciate it.

So much for one body to hold.

Full to the brim,

flow over and out.

When life gets hard I will be here,

This is my oath,

My firm, fast vow.

I can’t keep you held in my arms

Safe away from harm,

To stop the fall.

You have to grow into your self,

Find your own way,

Make your own home.

It pains me so to see you hurt,

But you fall hard

Then get back up.

And when you need me, I will come

Help you get onto

your feet once more.

You are my Love, my life, my all.

Time, good or bad,

I am here. Mum.

By Izabelly Marques on Unsplash

Love Unconditional

Dedicated to Clare. Her love knows no bounds and this poem was written with her in mind.

Four paws,

A tail,

Fur and nose.

All Love,

no cap,

So it goes.

Hard days

Fall away

With you at home.

A Hug

A pat

And a calm zone.

Our spot,

With you,

My pet, love is all I know.

By Yoav Hornung on Unsplash

A Right To Love

For Kat and Liz.

Of all the love I have ever seen

None come near to the two of you.

I know the hard times that have been.

You face the hate and bias of some

to top off the test cast in all love lore.

On a solo path or as one body,

You have held so firm when life tore.

I look to your lead to know

That true love is not some faux tale.

To see you hand in hand,

Is to see hope, even when love and I fail.

By Marah Bashir on Unsplash

Tale as Old as Time

Boy met girl

And lips did curl

In Coy look so fine.

A tale as old as time.

Love came and grew

Till cold wind blew.

Fear cut so deep

That love fell to sleep.

And Hurt took hold.

One day hurt will fold.

Once more the fire will burn

When it is time to turn

With love at the core

To take it's seat once more.

By Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

Love is.... what you make of it.

I will confess, poetry is not normally my forte. I don't call myself a poet, simply an author. I do believe the best way to develop as an author is to experiment with genres outside of my comfort zone, which is exactly what poetry is for me.

I hope you enjoyed my compilation of poems celebrating a few of the different aspects of love and thank you for reading.

inspirationalsocial commentarylove poems
12

About the Creator

Lilly Cooper

A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.

I may be an amateur Author, but I love what I do!

Subscribe to join me on my journey!

Click the link to connect with other Australian Creators on Vocal Media Creators Australia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    lovely work!!!!

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Fabulously created

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Wonderful love words!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Some lovely words there

  • Awww, all your poems were so lovely! My favourite would be the one for Clare!

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Very nicely put. My favorite is the last poem. Well done!

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Love this. “not my Forte…?” I think you have shattered that ceiling. 🥰

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Ms. Lilly ~ Love is never 'spiteful' when followed by a 'HUG' ~ - Delightful - Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.