Poets logo

Love at Last Sight

I am oblivious to my own emotions.

By Kaiya ChristiansenPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I do not fall in love lightly.

It is irregular.

It is not gentle.

He sat,

in my second hour class,

where I wrote essays

and essays

about how unnecessary love was.

How every great fictional character goes mad

because they become attached.

He rarely spoke,

or at least,

I rarely heard him.

I was too involved in my own ego to notice.

I spoke too loud, too often

to hear anybody but myself.

Of course I had flings,

brief, exciting bursts of emotion

with boys I had known forever.

I still do not believe it was love.

They were welcome, needed

distractions.

In November, too late,

I paid attention.

I saw the way his hair curled,

saw the way his eyes shone.

He lit up when things got intellectual.

He was a genius

but would never say it on his own.

I said it for him,

to myself,

whispered among many other secret observations.

And I ignored him

for three more months.

I was young,

too young,

and he was very nearly grown.

In March, the flowers bloomed

and class resumed.

History made me dream

of a future with the man on my left.

I watched his hands as he wrote.

I’ve always loved hands.

I wanted to hold them,

but he will never know that.

He was the first boy

ever

to make me feel so many things

that even I could not keep track.

I was too nervous to tell him,

“I like your shirt,”

I walked away as soon as he said thank you.

My essays changed

from hating love

to needing it.

I wanted to read his writing,

Writing is a deeply personal thing,

I wanted to understand him.

I wanted him to read my writing.

Out of every boy I thought I loved,

he was the only one to compliment

my brain

before my body.

My comfort around people

has always been limited.

Around him,

I was myself.

Because I am a largely oblivious girl,

I did not realize that our first date

was just that.

I got home,

realized he had skipped his dad’s party

to see a movie I had seen three times before

with me.

I had never seen his face until then.

I knew his voice before I saw his mouth.

Learned his writing before I saw his nose.

We talked about life, about family,

about love

before ever discussing the weather.

I didn’t stop giggling the whole weekend.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.