Poets logo

Loud

A Poem About the Aftermath (of Abuse)

By Wandering WaytaPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Loud

LOUD

L O U D

everything is too loud.

His fists rattle my brain with the same rhythm

his screams beat my eardrums.

His memory scraps the edges of my mind,

twisting and scratching until my head is

raked raw.

It's a dull ache now, a numb pounding that

only I can see. Except I can't, because it is

only inside of me.

And then it

Rains

RAINS

R A I N S

clearing my tear ducts of all debris. It

washes away the aftermath for a while,

until it just won't be held in anymore. And

then it's

Loud.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Wandering Wayta

Hey friends! I’m a college student just looking for ways to share my voice. Writing is an outlet and I just hope that somewhere in my works you find light. Jesus is the light in me❤️

#freeandabove

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.