Poets logo

Lost Touch

written 12.12.2020

By MaggiePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I have lost touch

it happened slowly

gradually

unintentionally

now there’s silence

instead of talking

I’m so tired

of how the world works right now

no more texts

no more video calls

I want hugs

and faces

and real conversations

I want the atmosphere of my favorite bar

the casual conversations with waiters

I want smiles

that I can see from the lips to the eyes

I want strangers

to be curious about

I want to make up stories in my head again

about that couple at the next table

or the handsome guy that caught my eye

I need people

and places again

I’ve been craving connection for so long

it keeps me alive

there is no joy without others

no happiness in reuniting without an embrace

I want kisses

and hot dance floors, jacket fallen from my shoulders

sharing a cigarette outside

when the music turns

I want to sing at the top of my lungs

surrounded by people

and smile at all the beauty in the world

I can enjoy, again.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Maggie

I've been a writer ever since I could pick up a pen. I love to observe the world around me and commit it all to paper, creating stories along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.