Poets logo

Lost Time

Shadows of Despair

By Dancing DumplingPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lost Time
Photo by Cassidy Dickens on Unsplash

An early start to the day as I sit with my coffee

I wonder why the moment when you start to engage in a thought

It consumes you

You start to dig deeper and deeper into the issue

Surgically identifying every detail

It became an operation of the mind

Contemplating what you did wrong

Even knowing you can’t change the past

And it’s the past that haunts you

Asking yourself why you didn’t do better

You capture every scenario that could have been

What you could have changed

As I sit, the coffee became cold

Just like the thoughts in my head and this moment right now

You forget to be present and slowly you drift away into a black hole

The light around you completely gone

The spark inside, extinguished

All that’s left is lost time

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Dancing Dumpling

My name is Hyun and I am a modern dancer from Washington, DC. Writing has been a creative outlet for me, and it has allowed me to express my thoughts that I would not have otherwise, verbally. It has been a very helpful tool.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.