Poets logo

Lost Boys

What does it mean to grow up and accept the inevitable?

By Poetry LandscapesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
4

I once was a boy

who didn't want

to grow up.

.

I didn't need anyone

or want anything

real.

.

Fantasy was for me,

I never had to

feel

.

anything hurtful,

mean, or other dreary

grown up things.

.

In this world

I found

a new friend

and family member.

fairy dust

.

covered me

in these dreamy

nights, while I

.

rested next to my

beautiful, seductive

enchantress fairy wife.

.

She did me no harm

but always loved me.

.

I found other boys

just like me,

who felt just like me,

who dreamed just like me,

who hurt just like me,

.

and wanted to forget,

.

all those adult tasks

that created

such discordance

in our minds.

.

We battled the grown ups

we found

on our island.

Tooth and nail

we fought

the inevitable,

.

as monsters large

and small even,

stalked our whereabouts

always trying to find

our secret fantasy lair.

.

Legend has it there exists

a dragon

on this isle.

.

If it catches you,

the innocent part

will be gone

forever.

.

You will grow up

like the others

.

we left behind.

.

--

.

One day I was hunting

pirates,

I thought I was

brave,

.

I found a girl,

a real girl,

not a fairy princess

who gave enchantments

but never

showed me

what it truly means

to be a man.

.

But a real girl!

.

The dragon of chaos

held her in her clutches

and I was afraid

I would lose

this real girl!

.

Who could show me worlds

hidden from view.

.

I lept into action

not thinking the cost,

grabbed my sword

and saved my Wendy,

.

but lost a part

of myself in the fight.

.

I knew I would never

see this part of me again.

.

At that moment

It was fated.

I would grow up.

I felt it happening already.

.

I felt old,

I could no longer fly.

I fell in love with Wendy.

We had children

I knew I would die.

.

I developed dreams

dreams that were real.

.

I couldn't remember

the location

of our secret lair.

.

It was lost, and my

lost boys too.

.

The dragon no longer stalks

me but follows

like a pet dog

that knows it will win

in the end.

.

My fairy doesn't come around

anymore.

.

And Wendy seems very ok

with that. But I have a life,

.

and children.

The dragon of chaos

is a friend, who reminds me

.

all things, dreams, and schemes

someday end.

.

They become memory

and legend. As I and all

things fade.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Poetry Landscapes

We are a poet influenced by Charles Bukowski, and Button poets such as Anis Mojgani, Neil Hilborn and Andrea Gibson. He follows the outlaw style and utilizes surrealist landscapes. Find more at https://poetrylandscapes.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.