Poets logo

Loss

To Shawn

By Juniper WoodstonePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Loss
Photo by Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

It was the day before the funeral

And I had drifted off to bed

My eyes filled with tears and my heart truly sad

When I came to, you stood before me with a mischievous smile

And you ran from me all through my mother’s house

I gave chase

Unwilling to lose you again

You rounded the corner ducking into a bathroom

But when I followed, you were not there

I turned away with a heart so heavy

As I left you jumped from out of nowhere and gave me a fright

My heart oh how filled with joy it was

I threw my arms around you

You wrapped your arms around me tightly

Encasing me like a cocoon

Oh how I had missed your voice and you

As I sobbed into your shoulder

You told me everything would be alright

That the cancer had just been too much for you

And now you were free as you should always have been

You told me you loved me and asked me for a favor

To watch over Dad and my little brother

You asked me to not cry while I spoke for you

Because I had to know that you loved me and that you were so proud

In the hospital you had told me there was nothing that needed to be said

Because we already knew that no matter what

I was your Twurp and you were my uncle

You said you’d watch over me and that I should never change

I was just a young woman and still learning and growing

I was scared to let go, scared to say goodbye

You kissed my head and told me I would one day be fine

Your loss was too great and my heart has yet to mend

I have not dreamed of you since

But how I wish I did

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Juniper Woodstone

An aspiring writer sharing her short-written pieces in both series and stand alone. I am hoping to one day publish my own book. I hope you enjoy reading my stories as much as I have enjoyed writing them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.