Poets logo

Losing

A poem about self acceptance

By Oyinkan AkandePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I lose the sting of my wit to you, slowly.

My mind simply stills, like a room greying in the dull of twilight.

As you lay sleeping, I watch how the dusk blends out the hues.

I lose the sharpness of my edges to you, quickly

The way ice cream buckles to a summer’s day.

On a blissful afternoon in July, I let the sage of pistachio melt and subdue.

I lose the balance of my body to you, headily.

With wine-stained teeth and rainbow-blurred eyes,

My dance now is clumsy – a heavy-footed stumping and thud.

I’ve lost all my fight to you, completely.

I was felled in an instant and, all at once,

Drenched in the eve hours’ gold, the last roar of the sun before it set.

I’ve come to love you, fiercely

In surrender, I’ve mended red-red wounds, wiped crystal-glass tears,

Raised white flags and laid down the arms that would do harm to this skin.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Oyinkan Akande

Writer, copywriter & photographer based in London – writing on art, pop culture and identity. Contributed to gal-dem · Christie's · Roundtable Journal · Elephant · Wallpaper* · THIIIRD · Sweet Thang · Syrup · Europe & Me & more >>>

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.