Poets logo

Losing myself, then being found

We've all been there. We've lost ourselves in unfortunate situations.

By MICHELLE SMITHPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
"Lost myself trying to please everyone else. But now I'm losing everyone while I'm finding myself."

Lost in trying to please others

Slipping more and more into this shell

Slowly losing myself

The person I once was, has come and gone

Judging each step I walk

Nowhere to go and nowhere to turn

This shell is growing smaller with each jab

Thinking the decision you make are just right

Realizing that others aren't happy once

Losing myself to disappointment

Feeling the steps behind me evaporate

Cloudy judgement floating around in my head

Trying to please others has become the only thing

Keeping quiet in situations that should be spoke out loud

Hiding and listening to all that is going around

Losing myself slowly

When will I learn that I will never grow?

Letting myself become lost in this storm

Spread your wings and seek opportunities

There is more to life than just losing me

Lonely is a common feeling

It will pass when I stop pleasing

Pulling myself together and slowly finding me

Moving forward in a positive note

Seeking happiness each step I go

Peace and joy will surround me, I'm sure

Lost in others will no longer be a concern

Being a, “people pleaser” is a tiring thing. You can’t please everyone. As much as you want to please others, someone is always still unsatisfied. I’ve learned over time no matter how hard I try I will always let someone down. At the end of the day though my own peace, joy and happiness is all that should matter. If I’m not happy then it was all for nothing. Move forward with a positive attitude. Build a future for you. Don’t just sacrifice for others especially when you can’t please the whole crowd. Know that you can be successful and helpful to others in many ways. Keep hope alive, know you are doing your best. End of it all that is all that really matters.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

MICHELLE SMITH

An inspirational poet. Writing poems to show others that it is okay to show feelings another way. I've tried a couple articles but I've found I'm better at the poetry. Just want to inspire and encourage others through tough times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.