Poets logo

Looped.

The Cycles of Companionship.

By Tommy BallardPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
38
In The Clouds.

Of course I've moved on.

You have too, right?

I don't want to speak to you any more.

I wish you would call sometime.

What did I ever do that was so terrible?

I've come to find you so despicable.

I hate who you are, your friends and what you have.

I miss when it was just me and you that rang out all those laughs.

If I was more like them and less like me would we still be close?

Was there ever really care for me if that's the way it goes?

A reminder that I'm still alive.

The joy of holding love in my palm.

The cruelty to feel it's fingers slip away from mine.

What a beautiful thing to experience such morose and joys.

Or maybe that's just what I tell myself on those frozen lonely nights.

But of course I've moved on, you have too, right?

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
38

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧4 months ago

    The lies we tell ourselves! I love this, Tommy. Have you considered adapting this for the Inverse Poem Challenge?

  • CONGRATULATIONS. MOVING ON AFTER A RELATIONSHIP. I FEEL THE PAIN

  • Bagwasi Dennis6 months ago

    The repetition of questioning whether both have truly moved on adds a poignant touch to the emotional narrative. Well-crafted and deeply expressive.👏

  • I am a looper. This resounded with aching familiarity. Congrats on the top story. I've happily subscribed

  • Kulshum Khatoon6 months ago

    Absolutely captivated by the raw emotions and the ebb and flow of companionship in 'Looped.' Your words are like a poignant dance between love and loss. Congratulations on Top Story! Thanks a ton for sharing this masterpiece with us; it's a journey we've all felt but couldn't express so beautifully. 🙌

  • Test6 months ago

    Charting of emotion so beautifully done. Congratulations on Top story 🤍

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff6 months ago

    very well written, great top story!

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Excellent work! Made me think of a quote, "It's better to have loved and lost, then to never have loved at all." Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Really appreciating all of the comments here and it means a lot to have been awarded top story. I'd just like to point out as an aside that one of my other creative pursuits is creating glitch art, such as the featured image for this piece, if you enjoy it you can find much more glitch art creations of mine regularly posted at my Instagram, @DigitalNightcrawler

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    I think you have nailed something here... We want closure to be open and other lives to be aware of our own...no matter what happens. Great TS! 🏅

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    Great loop here, and an eternal relationship dilemma: to move on or not, and if yes, how?

  • Moe Radosevich6 months ago

    moving on can be as hard as not doing so, nice writing, and congrats on too story, very worthy, worthy of a subscription as well 😊😊

  • Oh wow my first top story, awesome!

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    oh, congratulations on TS

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    Exactly! It was in July of 1977. And yes, I finally moved on. Took me years but I made it.

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Wow...so incredibly relatable! Beautifully writte. You have a new subscriber. Also congrats on Top Story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.