Poets logo

LOOKING OUT TO SEA"

"THE BIRD IN THE FOG"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
7
PHOTO BY VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

I lived in South Texas on a peninsula protruding into the Gulf of Mexico in the fishing villages of Fulton and Rockport. I took the photo one foggy day 9 years ago. When I lived there the tropical birds that occupied the coast became my friends and my comfort zone as they seemed to pose for me on many occasions. I have so many personal photos of the beautiful birds of South Texas. I wanted to share with my friends on Vocal.

“LOOKING OUT TO SEA”

“THE BIRD IN THE FOG”

The great Egret looks out at the fog,

And the clouds of the sea and the peninsula of this monologue

Of memories of yesteryear and beyond the sea

As I feel the sea breeze blowing with me

As I walk along the shore

To feel the bird, the sea breeze, and abhor

To the thought of a forever fog over the earth

Of scorched mountains of recycle birth of chemicals rebirth

To spread through the oceans, lakes, and towns

Of mounds

Of millions of people, we walk and talk,

Thinking we own the earth as we walk,

Through the streets of time and space

We remember the call of the great Egret bird,

Looking out at the sea without a word

Saying the sea has oil pollution and other bacterial products of destruction.

I imagine the Egret wishes humans would think about the instructions

Of the Native American,

“We do not own Mother Earth. We are here for a brief time. The Earth owns us. We are born from the Earth and to the Earth we shall return.”

This is a description of the great Egret per Wikipedia with link.

In North America, large numbers of great egrets were killed around the end of the 19th century so that their plumes, known as "aigrettes", could be used to decorate hats. Numbers have since recovered as a result of conservation measures. Its range has expanded as far north as southern Canada. However, in some parts of the southern United States, its numbers have declined due to habitat loss, particularly wetland degradation through drainage, grazing, clearing, burning, increased salinity, groundwater extraction and invasion by exotic plants. Nevertheless, the species adapts well to human habitation and can be readily seen near wetlands and bodies of water in urban and suburban areas.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_egret

Stream of ConsciousnessProsenature poetryinspirationalFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 2 months ago

    First and foremost let me say that I love your cover photo. It is magnificent. Your poem is outstanding. You touch on some important issues while also elevating the beauty of the egret. Fine work my friend!!!

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    Oh, and I forgot to mention that I love that cover image. Nice shot!

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    I'm a sucker for anything related to the ocean/sea, so I had to check this one out. Nice work on this! One of my favorite birds is the blue heron, but the egret ranks closely behind them.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.