Poets logo

Looking At You

poem

By Muhammad IqbalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Looking At You
Photo by Drew Graham on Unsplash

I look at you

And I can see it in your face

You think you hide it

But I see you.

I see the hurt , the dark circles beneath your eyes and the quite plea dancing on your bottom lip,

too afraid to be voiced too afraid to be heard

because you are too afraid to be hurt

and I just want to take you and wrap you up in my arms, hold you, console you tell you things that you'll believe

but you don't seem to believe anything anymore because you have been deceived far too many times

So I'll just look at you and see the pain in your fake smile , and I'll smile back

and I'll hear the attempted deception when you tell me that you are just tired and I'll say me too

I know you're broken inside

I can see it in your face

Violets are blue,

and so are you

m.k.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.