Poets logo

Lonely in a Relationship

Poem: My experience of making someone feel lonely within a relationship

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Lonely in a Relationship
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I look back at your face through the screen,

you tell me that when you talk to me,

You feel so lonely,

A place you shouldn't have to feel in a relationship,

I know,

Because I have been there,

I have felt the feeling of being scared,

the feeling that the other person does not care,

and I don't want that for you,

there's no place where you should be lonely within the person you love,

there's no place in a relationship where you have to take what's just enough,

while I teeter whether to give up,

But I stare at your face,

give you a compromising smile,

hoping you buy it for a little while longer,

Till I can think of something to say,

I am just prolonging another day,

causing a delay,

Till I can tell you that we are not okay,

That it's not something you did directly,

Nothing you could have done more correctly,

There's no way to break your heart respectfully,

But you shouldn't have to feel alone with me right there,

you should feel as if I am as excited to talk to you anytime, anywhere,

not that it's a burden to me and it seems like I don't care,

I wish I could tell you otherwise,

put the dreamer back in my eyes,

for you,

I wish I could look at our relationship as shiny and new,

and still see it at a possibility seeming too good to be true,

I wish compliments slipped so sweetly off my tongue still,

say the words you desire to feel fulfilled,

I wish that wasn't like swallowing a large pill,

But I can't lie to you,

And I can't seem to fully disconnect our fuse,

even if our sparks have become mute,

at least for me,

So, I keep calling and smiling where you can see,

But you see right through me,

my lies are asked to be seen clearly,

But I can't give you what you need,

You sit there on the other side of the screen,

Feeling lonely,

Because I can't be the person you need me to be.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.