Poets logo

Lola's Story

A magickal night....

By Ari Asha LovePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

The sky is stained purple and pink,

And my face is being kissed by the wind.

The pear tree at the top of this hill

Has been a safe space for me since I was a kid.

One day while meditating here,

This interesting looking lady appears.

She has a charming smile

And an ethereal way about her.

I had never felt this way before

But I knew I couldn’t deny it.

I knew not to ignore it.

She asks to sit with me

And I joke that her suit might get wrinkled.

She refrains from laughing

But I can tell she enjoys my humor so far.

The sky is beginning to turn black

And the closeness of our beings

Is enough to make me go mad.

I knew not to rush

But ultimately I knew what this was.

I can’t think the word

But I know it could be Love.

We talk for what seems like hours,

And the world around us is fading.

Nothing seems to matter

But this moment before us.

You end up with your head on my shoulder,

And something tells me to ‘hold her’.

I ignore the voice

And continue to enjoy the moment.

Fireflies begin to appear

And it’s almost magical the way they fly around us.

The moon is high in the sky

And I begin to ponder if this feeling is just lust.

I’m not sure if my feelings should be trusted.

But we continue to rejoice in this moment;

The night sky, the fireflies, and the spark between us both.

I can’t help but to realize that this moment will not last forever.

At some point we will part ways

And today will have just been a memory.

I ponder if it has to be the case,

But thankfully

Sarah breaks the silence between us.

She asks about my childhood,

And what is was I wanted to do

When I was small.

I try to recall

And I think of movies and billboards.

She tells me something similar

And we both ask what happened.

For me, it was no support.

For her, she felt like she would fall short.

Both of us were cowards,

She agrees.

“We might not have met if it weren’t for our cowardice.”

She says it and I feel it,

But deep down I know that isn’t true.

We would have met on some stage somewhere

Or in a music video for a washed up rapper.

“That would be so tragic.”

She laughs, and I lament on how some woman’s head

Is in my lap.

Our lives are so short,

And even shorter in the grand scheme of things.

Yet somehow we’ve managed to meet here in the middle.

Somehow we have managed to beautifully clash into one another.

Somehow we have aligned to be here with each other.

Never have I ever felt so strongly about another human,

And really it feels like I am blooming with you here.

Your eyes are so soft

And they cut so sharply through the darkness.

You make me forget about the harshness

Of the world.

Your skin is a bit dry

But I really don’t mind

As it feels just like home to me.

And it feels just like divinity.

I don’t think I could ever forget

The way that her scent lingered

Once she was gone.

I don’t think I will ever regret

Sharing the night

With such an angel.

Even though the departure

Was a bit painful,

It felt so wonderful

Simply being in your presence.

And it felt so magical

To even witness your essence.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ari Asha Love

Been writing all my life but the question is whether or not I truly take it seriously.

You can find me on most social media platforms as afroqueergod :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.