Poets logo

LIVING IN A DESERT

POEM

By Brenda AumaPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1

In this desert of sand and stone,

Where the sun beats down all alone,

I find myself lost and adrift,

A stranger in this barren rift.

The dunes stretch far and wide,

Like waves of gold they glide,

And though I search for shade and rest,

My weary soul finds no nest.

The wind it howls like a beast,

As if it would feast on me,

But still I wander, wild and free,

In this desolate symphony.

The stars at night they twinkle bright,

Like diamonds scattered in flight,

And though I feel so small and weak,

I know that life is not a seek.

For in this desert of despair,

I've found a beauty beyond compare,

A solitude that sets me free,

A place where only I can be.

So let the sands drift through my hair,

And let the sun burn deep into my skin,

For here in this desolate land,

I am alive, and I am kin.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Brenda Auma

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    Beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.