Poets logo

Live like a Labrador

Poppy’s 1.2.3. Challenge!

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 7 months ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
54
Live like a Labrador
Photo by Yuki Dog on Unsplash

1. Believe each moment is fresh, new, exciting!

People you meet, are friendly and inviting.

2. Savour myriads of wafting scents…

Flowers, shrubs; grass and fence!

3. Exuberantly bound through life…

if possible, shun the strife.

4. Sublime, Ulysses butterflies float by…

6. Strive to cope with an attention span of a fly!

5. Food… fresh and flavoursome…

frequently refuel the tum!

7. Embrace happiness…

Yes, oh yes!

I see my Bestie put on her shoes…

Oh no!! Slippers mean she’s off for a snooze!

6. Don’t fret… if like a furry pet…

you sometimes forget.

37. Life’s way too fleeting for fuss and stresses

Be grateful for all that richly blesses.

***

Wallabies Wander… Cockatoos Caper is another poem of mine, celebrating the beauty of animals and nature.

listnature poetryhumorfact or fiction
54

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading… especially fiction and recently poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 🙃

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (42)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga3 months ago

    I adore the humorous and perceptive approach to life lessons from the viewpoint of a Labrador; it serves as a welcome reminder to practice thankfulness, joy, and simplicity in our daily lives.

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    Love this, very cleverly done with the rhyming too!

  • B.R. Shenoy4 months ago

    Congratulations on winning Top Story! Such a wonderful piece!

  • This is perfectly written. If a labrador could write, this is what he or she would tell us, and the way it skips around, flitting between ideas like an excited dog is brilliant. I love this! I want this printed on a poster!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is awesome!! I love this mentality. What a great outlook to have. 💗

  • Annie Edwards 4 months ago

    Oh wow I love this!!! It really does make you remember to cherish those small moments ❤️

  • C. H. Richard4 months ago

    So very sweet and my black lab would agree. ❤️ Loved this ❤️

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Very good read! Positive and uplifting!😊💕❤️

  • NOpanayaka5 months ago

    Nice work ❤️

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Love the list and especially your last line!!!💕❤️❤️

  • J. S. Wade5 months ago

    Live this … fun but also sage wisdom. 😎

  • Z.a.i.n.t.z5 months ago

    Lluvvv❤️❤️🤞🏾

  • Test6 months ago

    Well-deserved congratulations for your work—keep it up!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    I love this Angie, such a beautiful philosophies in here and insightful life lessons! I love the line "strive to cope with the attention span of a fly"... both made me laugh and gave me a thought to ponder... the idea of not dwelling on things too long. Just enjoy life for what it is/ has and be present. Great work!!

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    Love the uplifting tone! Definitely good advice 😍

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    I have a Lab...yes, we should all live like that :)

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    Excellent advice! Also, 8. Always lick the tub 😋

  • Andrea Corwin 6 months ago

    Those Labs!! And they are over eaters!

  • Xine Segalas6 months ago

    I love this! I love dogs - they know how to live life.

  • This reminds me of the old college joke: "I have a double major: Procrastination, but I haven't gotten around to starting it yet, & sex education with plenty of labs." Okay, so in the context of your poem, the meaning changes just a little....

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Ah dogs. I prefer cats, I love dogs from afar, Give me the little itty bitty ones, this was so relatable to doggies. Kudos on the TS.

  • Lovely. I personally know one labrador currently who is an idiot

  • Michelle Liew6 months ago

    Ah…to be like a dog! Stress less and carefree! Well-expressed.

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Dear AA - So very glad I've discovered your delightful work. Ah, your long-leg-lab and my short-leg Corgi...who got the better hugs? My wife would walk around with Lola's legs wrapped around the back of her neck holding each leg tightly; quite a loving sight. Angie, that's what's fun about this - we often relate to one another's reads. As I scroll through your lovely offerings I've *subscribed with pleasure. Not quite sure where you are in the world; fun though to communicate across the globe. Nor do I know anything about your tie-in with Paul & Poppy since I never enter contests, I'm just an old fashion storyteller nothing more. I've read and enjoy most of Paul's work- when I can keep up with him - but, kind of disappointed he doesn't subscribe to me or ever read my 'Schtick' -  just different focuses I reckon. Too much blab...so sorry. If you want an Old Fashion Goof you may relate to - please view my 'Baby Mamas' btw; Funny: You never did tell us the name of your "Bestie" Hair-Suit Lab? Good to meet you, Angie. I will be following you. 'j' Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.