Poets logo

Live a Lie

A. Rose

By A. RosePublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Live a Lie
Photo by Mayank Dhanawade on Unsplash

I saw a scar on my wrist today,

But my mind saw something else tonight.

Anything else.

I felt bruises on my ribs,

they hurt when I whisper.

But my mind felt nothing,

just the morning breeze between my lips.

I can smell skin smoldering as a burn appears,

But my mind speaks and says love is allowed to be lethal.

I heard the course of words, ranging in screams of various, terrifying tunes,

But my mind sings to me, calling this a lullaby.

His voice asks me why,

Why do you lie…

Lie…

Lie…

But my mind says,

To stay

Alive.

CONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

A. Rose

Hello readers, I hope you are all enjoying the content I have created for you. I would love to hear your feedback, any is appreciated! Thanks again for checking out my stories,

A. Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    OMG, don't make me come there and have a talk with him! Great poem and I truly hope it is not your experience.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.