Poets logo

Little Messes Everywhere

abecedarian

By Kari McLeesePublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
20
Little Messes Everywhere
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

A tiny voice calling out,

berating me,

chiding harshly my inaction.

Dirty dishes in heaps,

encrusted with a grimy film -

Friday's lunch.

Garbage teeming, enticing flies who

hover over sweating, smelling piles.

I cannot bring myself to care.

Jars dripping, leaking pungent liquids,

ketchup pools in corners.

Little messes everywhere to clean.

Maybe later.

Neat pawprints tracked across the floor,

overflowing stacks of laundry

pleading to be washed.

Quite when they got so high, I do not know.

Right now I'd rather

sit than

tend to the

upheaval.

Visitors beware, you have been

warned. You will not get a

xenial greeting.

You'd best stay home, and I shall remain

zoned out on the couch.

humor
20

About the Creator

Kari McLeese

teacher, wife, mom, bibliophile

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Melissa Ingoldsby4 months ago

    Love this had to read it twice so relatable to me

  • Aaliyah Madison4 months ago

    Congratulations to TS

  • Kodah4 months ago

    Congrats on top story!! ❣️

  • Andrew Zuk4 months ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉🎉💗

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler4 months ago

    Oh, Kari, when were you at my house? Ha ha! I LOVE this poem because it describes so many of us with a light touch. Congrats on TS!

  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    congratulations on TS. reminds me of how my boss lives.

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    So relatable! I loved this poem, Kari - especially the titular 'L' line. It just perfectly drew the poem in and expanded out from there. Such a wonderful hinge.

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    Great concept and excellent poem!

  • Amy Black4 months ago

    :) So relatable! Love this! Your poem made me smile, and I feel a little less lazy tonight. :)

  • Macy4 months ago

    I like this poem because it reminds me of my younger crazy messy brothers!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.