Poets logo

Little Love Notes with a Side of Coffee

Poetry

By Gregory D. WelchPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Little Love Notes with a Side of Coffee
Photo by Jessica Lewis on Unsplash

You’ll probably read this with a side of coffee, so I’ll try to make it sweeter than a side of doughnuts and whisper little whispers as you wake up

We have written love notes in so many moments, making snow angels and cuddling by hot fires, dancing in summer showers, and swing swinging on the porch

Is there any better poem a poet can write than all the ways he loves the one who holds his heart?

You are my favorite surprise babe, unwrapping little moments with you, kissing and cuddling, dancing in the kitchen, writing little love notes and tucking them into heartbeats and so much

We have written little love notes in so many moments, kissing and cuddling as the sun rises and shines in your eyes, and all I could find myself able to look at was you and the joy so openly written on your face sharing this little moment with me

It’s the first day of advent and they lit the candle at church this morning, but I have to be honest, there was another little light that was lit that I keep thinking about, the one you lit in my heart as you laid your head on my shoulder

Let’s unwrap little moments and make little surprises out of all the magic we find tucked in our day, sitting close, chatting quietly, laughing little laughs that say so much

As we slide into the Christmas season and I think of you in that Santa hat, wearing a shy smile, peeking at me as the Christmas lights flick flicker, I find my heart skipping beats

It’s the first day of Advent, and Fall leaves whisper about Christmas snows, my arms are ready…for snow shovel and Christmas cuddles both, I’ll wrap you up babe, kissing little kisses and keeping you warm

As we cuddle up and cozy down, sleepy eyes peeking sleepy peeks, let’s drift off to sleep holding each other, dreaming about snow angels and snow ball fights

Let’s unwrap little moments and laugh little laughs, thinking about Christmas fires in the fireplace and trying to surprise one another with little surprises

Your fingers laced with mine, your ear laying just above my heart, listen to the way you make it skip beats with little peeks and shy little smiles

The first big snow, let’s make snow angels and have snowball fights, laughing and writing little love notes in all that snow

Is there any better poem than the one we wrap up in kisses and cuddles and tuck into our day?

Lace your fingers with mine babe, and lay your head on my chest, let’s listen for the flutter of butterfly wings as you peek little peeks and smile that shy little smile I love so much

Hi beautiful, you wake to find this little love note tucked in beside your coffee, good morning, how about a side of kisses and cuddles while you wake up, peek at me over your coffee cup, see me grinning your favorite lopsided grin, as we melt in our little lopsided morning moment

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Gregory D. Welch

Kentucky poet & scribbler. Inspiring creatives to live a creative lifestyle. Creating with courage, passion, & purpose-fueled growth. Progress over perfection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.