Poets logo

Little Angel

An Ode to My Mom

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 11 months ago 1 min read
30
Rick Henry Christopher and his Little Angel

I want to fix you but I can't

I want to put you back together so that every part of you works properly

But I can't and I don't want to accept that

I'd rather live in denial in hopes of the impossible becoming reality

But I know that just isn't so

This new reality is one I'm hiding from

I don’t want it

I can't own it.

≈≈≈

I don't want to see you this way

It brings tears to my eyes

I feel helpless

I feel alone.

≈≈≈

But you are still alive

You are here with me

I can hug you

I can kiss you on the nose

I can hear you breathing

I can do my best to keep you alive.

≈≈≈

But sooner or later I must accept what I don't want to accept

surreal poetrysad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
30

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    That is a GREAT pic of the two of you. You can feel how important the bond is that you share. And the written words tell it all! 💖💖💖

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    How lucky you both are, to share this love. I am sure you are very proud of each other. ❤️

  • 🥹🙏🫶🏾❤️

  • Sending love Rick❤️ prayers for your family 🫶🏾

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    I’m so sorry, Rick. What a terribly difficult time 😔. Sending you strength ❤️

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    I am very sorry that you have had to go through this. I know it must be very hard. I cared for my grandmother for several months, after she had decided that she wanted to die on her own terms. Accompanying her that way (and seeing her pass away with a smile on her face) was one of the most empowering / enriching experiences of my entire life. I would do it again in a heartbeat!

  • Irene Economou11 months ago

    I went through the same struggle that you described, Rick, with each of my parents. It is a difficult time experiencing the phases of life, and what our loved ones go through. It is a constant mixing of feelings…love, pain, agony, sadness, hope, numbness, sorrow, compassion.

  • really touching!

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Sorry that you are having to deal with this. Sending you a big big hug my friend. Praying for comfort during this difficult time. God has you...

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Too relatable, my friend. My heart breaks for you.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Emotional, pure thoughts, wishes, love that's so relatable. 💖💕

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Heartbreaking. I wish you both peace and comfort in this difficult time ❤️‍🩹

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Ah that last line, such a heart breaking thing to accept. It's so hard. I've been there too many times as well. I'm glad she has you!

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    It's so hard. This is so beautiful, raw and relatable. 💕

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    So heartfelt, Rick! This made me tear up, I felt the sadness and inevitability in your words. ❤️ Amazing job, and sending hugs to you!

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Having cared for both my parents whom have both passed, I can so relate. Very heartfelt and relatable. So sorry for all that you are going through. You are a wonderful son and caregiver to your mom. Sending many virtual hugs ♥️

  • Sadly, this is the bitter truth of the fragile temporary human life. Stay strong Rick. Sending you and your mom lots of love and hugs!

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    It’s hard to accept to lost a love one to an illness. I understand what you are going through. You mom is very bless to have you. I hope you find some comfort. I feel your feelings through your poem . Sending you comforting vibes, Rick ❤️🙏🏽

  • Shane Dobbie11 months ago

    The worst part of life is the end

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is beautiful, Rick.

  • Zuleika Boekhoudt11 months ago

    The last line hit me. Indeed, spend as much time as possible with her and make happy, silly memories. Those are the ones that will help you and put a smile on your face in the future.

  • Diani Alvarenga11 months ago

    The last line truly hit me! 🥺

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this incredibly honest and emotional piece. My heart is with you. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.