Poets logo

Listen Up!

A Monologue...

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
18
Listen Up!
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Why doesn't Beacon respect my mind?

He always wants me to show more skin...

He says that Mother Teresa and I are wardrobe twins...

Can you believe that?

He always wants me to show off my showgirl legs, flat-screen stomach, and Rihanna shoulders.

But what "my boo" fails to realize

is that I feel most like myself

when I'm covered up in sweats, spouting off poetry, researching melanomas or choreographing steps for my little sister's dance squad.

Beacon definitely doesn't care about the real me...

He just wants me to be another Black Barbie doll clone with fake rapunzel hair down to her ankles, a coke a cola figure and nothing but air up in her head...

But--you know what? It's a new day because I AM NOT THE ONE!

*Beacon, Listen up!!!!!!!

*I know that you're eavesdropping; you've always been the nosy kind!

Why don't you take the time...

To look a little deeper into my soul?

How about sitting down with me for a cup of coffee and a chat?

To learn about my views on important issues like: world hunger, human trafficking & suicide prevention.

And you best believe that MY cup of coffee will have plenty of cream and sugar...

Because as of today I'm officially off your perfect size five diet!

Now dear-heart, please take this one last tip from me, "Step away from the Fortnite…because I think it's beginning to corrupt your brain cells!"

PEACE✌🏾

performance poetry
18

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is great, Tiff. Well done.

  • Excellent writing. Great insights which could be very helpful for those struggling with poor body image or low self esteem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.