Poets logo

Listen

Underneath is where it happens.

By Shannon Marie LemirePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Listen
Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

I listen to the world around me

The sounds of life and joy and pain

The melodies of birds and wind and rain

The rhythms of heartbeats and breaths and steps

I listen to the stories they tell me

The words of love and hope and fear

The voices of friends and strangers and kin

The whispers of secrets and dreams and sins

I listen to the music that moves me

The notes of harmony and discord and tune

The instruments of strings and brass, and wood

The songs of passion and sorrow and mood

I listen to the silence that fills me

The absence of noise and speech, and tone

The stillness of calm and peace and rest

The sound of nothing and everything and best.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Shannon Marie Lemire

Writing is a part of who I am; I go between handwritten lengthy journaling to sitting here glued in front of my laptop. As inspiration hits, I write; following the intuitive nudge on what to share.

You'll see many sides of me here.

Enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.