Poets logo

Liquid Ground

A poem on perception and identity

By Lazulii RainPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
10

Sunlight glinting through slats obscuring skies,

clarity of my identity now less concrete than when seen through others' eyes.

Dwelling alone, wrapped in threads of fragmented perceptions

my mind struggles to make sense of all these conflicting reflections.

Who am I truly, at the core, with no one else around?

If I could just hold space for myself, perhaps I'd find something profound.

The heart within me is tugged in far too many directions

struggling to make sense of infinite possible selections.

My identity shifts quietly, quicksand calm in the eye of a hurricane

until she chooses to be loud, bestows me with a voice loving, and insane.

Connections with comrades make it feel crystal clear;

Visions of who I am, what I love, and why I'm here.

They reflect to me a familiar song, a scent from childhood,

breathing in deep and long, savouring infinite good.

Upon departure my heart stills, and mind feels a fracture

societies conditioning, tendrils around my mind like non-consented rapture.

Behold! I'm gay! I love myself, okay?

Though cautious to stand bold - just in case I get in the way.

social commentary
10

About the Creator

Lazulii Rain

My whole life, I have dreamed of sharing my art with the world. Traumatic experiences persuaded me that I wasn't worthy, but I am now liberating my heart and healing my spirit through creation.

I hope to give life to the whispers in my soul.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.