Poets logo

Liquid Eyes

A Poem

By Sarah TreasterPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

i met this girl

at a holiday party.

but that sounds too simple

for what it really felt like.

see i met this girl

at a holiday party

and

the moment she said hello,

i felt

my bones adjust,

like before her,

my body was unevenly

tilted,

my existence

misplaced.

she had liquid eyes

the kind

that make your

insides

bloom.

and i

couldn’t

look

away.

it was as if

her eyes

and lips

and breath

magnetized

my

bone marrow.

she came up to me

while i was scooping a

massive serving of

mac n cheese

onto my plate.

she said:

“I’m glad

I’m not the only one

who came up again

just for this.”

I could feel

the sound waves

of her voice

vibrating my heart valves.

So, naturally,

I panicked,

mumbled something

like “you betchya!”

and stumbled off

to admire

the shape

of her smile

from a safe distance.

later,

in the kitchen,

i told her i liked

the skull tattoo

on her forearm.

i could see more

ink stained skin

poking out

from under her shirtsleeves.

i wondered

what might happen

to my central nervous system

if i ever

got the chance

to trace my finger over every

line.

i think

it would feel

like lightning.

my back ached

the next day.

in her absence

my body

seemed to

return to its previous

lopsided state.

but every now

and then

i think

i feel the

sizzle

of the subtle electric currents

she unknowingly left

in the network

of blood vessels

under

my skin.

it feels

a little

like lightning.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Treaster

Just a 23 year old woman who likes poetry, dogs, Netflix, lions, feminism, food, and who is trying to find something more stimulating to do besides download, delete, then re-download those awful things called dating apps.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.