Poets logo

Liminalia

A Poem Suspended Between the Waking World and Ours

By Atomic HistorianPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
10
Liminalia
Photo by Kristina Tamašauskaitė on Unsplash

Awoken violently by a dream

Not a dream of violence

A crime of sorts

When your mind resorts to fusing the two

In belief they should be the new other

An indecipherable cipher

Is it one or two for life

What is this strife?

Stifling everything

She watches me work

Thinking nothing of it

But she loves it

Fallen on bended knee

What does this mean?

What is this image

It feels unclean

Yet

So

Familiar

I’ve been here before

I know this place

I know what is in every drawer

I’ve traced every inch of

Her face

Her face is always there

Now

Staring

Back at me

What does it all mean

Have I gone mad

In this place

Screaming out my desire

Into the void

Waiting

For an answer

Will she hear my call

Is it all just for my awe?

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
10

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    What is this double dreaming life we live and don't live all at once??? (also total side note, but I swear I've subscribed to you like 3 times now wth)

  • I've had experiences like this as well. Loved your poem!

  • Ah, those moments of stirring, not quite yet awake, & the things that go through the mind, wondrously captured here.

  • Bri Craig9 months ago

    I love the alliteration of these two lines: "What is this strife?/ Stifling everything"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.