Poets logo

Like, Love, Lost

Then and Now

By Alice ♡Published 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

It's falling asleep to the sound of your voice, to you singing our favorite song,

It's falling asleep to the sound of silence, our best memories long gone,

It's the gleam of light through the curtains when I'd wake, greeted by your smiling face,

It's the gleam in your eyes as you look at her, and the feeling of being replaced,

It's the smell of coffee on a Sunday morning when the grass is sparkling with dew,

It's the smell of coffee after a night of drinking, head pounding with thoughts of you,

It's the warmth of your smile as you'd say “good morning,” and wish me a wonderful day,

It's the warmth in my face passing you in the streets, regretting everything that I didn’t say,

It's the feeling of your arms, wrapped around me so strong, I knew that I was yours,

It's the feeling of tightness as I smile through the hurt, seeking safety behind closed doors,

It's the first bite of dinner at the end of the day, smiling cause you’re waiting at home,

It's the first bite of leftovers I warmed up to eat, all by myself, and alone,

It's the gentle feel of your lips on my skin as you welcome me back from work,

It's the gentle pounding memory of you leaving, the girl you left with, and her smirk,

It's the water dripping over your face as you smile, lips pressed to mine in the rain,

It's the water dripping from my eyes as I cry, wondering why you chose not to stay,

It's the feeling of your fingers gently combing through my hair, lulling me quietly to sleep,

It's the feeling of your fingers pushing me away, as you choose another girl to keep,

It's your kiss on my cheek and smiling face as I grin, barely half awake,

It's your kiss with her, so deep and sweet as I stood in the doorway to break,

It's your voice finally whispering, “I love you,” right before I close my eyes,

It's your voice telling me, “I love her,” when you walked away from me and I cried.

Written 6 April, 2016
heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Alice ♡

"I am by nature, a dealer in words, and words are the most powerful drug known to humanity." - Rudyard Kipling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.