Poets logo

Like Basquiat

A villanelle on love & addiction

By ZakiyaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
14
Jean-Michel Basquiat, Untitled, 1982. Courtesy of Sotheby’s

A bulldozer charged straight through my heart,

Seeing my love suffering from addiction,

Like Basquiat, he was a damaged work of art.

I became attached, he was my counterpart,

One who struggles with an awful affliction,

A bulldozer charged straight through my heart.

I learned to love and gave myself a fresh start,

I thought he had control of his condition,

Like Basquiat, he was a damaged work of art.

I spent my happiest moments with my sweetheart,

But then the relapses created friction,

A bulldozer charged straight through my heart.

Torture and agony, we were torn apart,

His weakness led to our destruction;

Like Basquiat, he was a damaged work of art.

The anguish pierced me like a dart,

Now it was my turn for a prescription,

A bulldozer charged straight through my heart.

Like Basquiat, we were damaged works of art.

sad poetrylove poemsinspirationalartheartbreak
14

About the Creator

Zakiya

Single mom of one incredible boy, nomadic soul currently tied to London, finding my way back to life after being lost in divorce & depressive times. Learning to love living & writing again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.