Poets logo

Like an Open Book

A Poem

By K.B. Silver Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Like an Open Book
Photo by Paige Cody on Unsplash

Every day a new book a way to escape. 

A person to be since I'm just a blank slate.

I can take on a role, visit that mind, inhabit that skin, make it all mine. 

Visit the places I'll never see, and be the person I might have been meant to be.

By Kourosh Qaffari on Unsplash

I pick up a new one and try on a new me, maybe this is how I could fit in, how I could be me. 

This story ends badly, as mine might right now, I'll grab a new book, maybe my luck will change somehow. 

I keep reading and changing until I find myself in the pages. 

There must be a me out there other people find efficacious.

K. B. Silver

I have suffered from PTSD-induced memory loss most of my life. This poem deals with the feelings of loss of self that stem from every memory loss episode and the difficulty in creating new personality aspects when they keep getting lost.

I also spent countless hours reading books to escape the life I was stuck living. In many cases I know I have read a book, I can recall its plot and characters, but I can't actually remember reading it. I devoured thousands of stories, lived thousands of lives, and escaped thousands of terrible troubles. Reading is a gift I feel blessed to have received.

sad poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

K.B. Silver

Writing to sort the trapped ideas, and unsaid words left inside my mind. My brand is BlockWife. I am reselling, writing, and creating content on multiple platforms, check me out on link tree https://linktr.ee/blockwife

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.