Poets logo

Cheshire Cat's Mile

A Poem

By K.B. Silver Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Image by K.B. Silver with Storybeat AI

I wondered why I was lost so I sat and cried awhile.

Until finally it was said, “where would you like to go my child?”

It shook me from my dream state only to find I live in nightmares.

In reality, I’ve no direction, there is indeed no place I’m going.

My life was spent running down a path I was dropped in motion running.

Now as it disappears, closing from the front and from behind.

I thrash and fight yet no path emerged in sight.

In my mind, a crazy voice, says “Just run!

If you’re not going anywhere the choice of direction in this journey’s yours”

So I run the Cat’s mile and I pant as I arrive.

I find who I’ve been looking for my entire life. The real me.

K.B. Silver

Living with severe mental health problems, and physical disabilities can make you feel unmoored. When even though you have achieved normal goals like getting an education, and getting married, it doesn’t matter. Because these things can’t actually make it possible to get through daily life, hold down a regular job, or even have long-term relationships besides your spouse. The road feels like it is endless, and leads nowhere. Not only that, there is no way to go back, the road has somehow been swept away behind you. Plus you have to keep speeding through life, uncontrolled, on roller skates, and you know if you reach out for help after a certain point you will only drag other people down with you. So you just set on down in the biggest pile of leaves, rest, and get up to continue your wild ride until your next crash.

sad poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

K.B. Silver

Writing to sort the trapped ideas, and unsaid words left inside my mind. My brand is BlockWife. I am reselling, writing, and creating content on multiple platforms, check me out on link tree https://linktr.ee/blockwife

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.