Poets logo

Like A Good Book Or Fine Wine

Better With Age

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago 1 min read
10
Like A Good Book Or Fine Wine
Photo by Henry Be on Unsplash

I thought all along I'd be happy to be

a fun-loving girl with someone caring for me

I'd have my lover convinced; I hung the stars in the sky

we would build us a home worth more than money could buy

Turns out what I'm good at is being lonely

like a misguided raindrop who misplaced the sea

I've got plenty to give, they won't take it for free

it's a pretty tough place in the world to be

No, don't feel bad for me, I got myself here

I've worked through those tough times I wanted to disappear

And I've designed me a world that suits me just fine

it took a whole lot of courage and effort to try

So, here I stand humbly, my heart in my hand

no longer having to prove that I don't need a man

No, I've let that pain go and I see much clearer now

relationships are grand and don't need taking a vow

To be something special and enlighten the soul

I just needed to relax and remember I'm in control

Of what finds its way past the eyes to the heart

no longer playing the game, simply playing it smart

As I settle into a new phase of my life

not based on being single or being a wife

But being a person content with herself

a unique best seller, repelling dust, on the shelf

inspirationallove poemshumorheartbreakFor Fun
10

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)about a month ago

    I love this. Best!

  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)about a month ago

    I love this. Best!

  • I must admit, if there's anyone capable of making you feel content, I can't think of a better candidate than yourself. Blessings, my friend.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Say it louder for the people in the back please! Loved this so much!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Love this one, inside and out!

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    Absolutely beautiful poem with such an important message. That last line, "a unique best seller, repelling dust, on the shelf" sums it up so perfectly. Great job!

  • ROCK about a month ago

    My Kelli! This is so needed to be read by so many women ( and other pronouns/gender affiliations/ all inclusive to the bone). I wish I had your spine and brains at your age. This was uplifting and meant so much to me.

  • GeorgianaReannaabout a month ago

    Make everyone ( $26,000 __ $38,000 ) A Month Online Making money online more than $20k just by doing simple work With No Prior Experience Or Skills Required. Be Your Own Boss And for more info visit any tab this site >>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Thanks a lot just open this link.======> Www.Moneypay1.com

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Oh, you have such a talent, Kelli. Love this. Another piece of self-love and self-love. Gorgeous writing, all emotive but eloquent in its way too. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.