Poets logo

Like A French Woman

A storm in a teacup

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

I’m lying between celadon hospital walls

under the white coolness of halogen lamps

surrounded by the metal beds, tubes, and syringes

injecting all the nastiness of this world

into my weak, withering, wobbly body

to allow haughtiness being replaced with pride

of who I became against all odds

a woman with iridescent desire in men

so-called jolie-laide

who will bring you a royal breakfast in bed:

croissants

pains au chocolat

barquettes à la fraise

baguette with butter and confiture

le jus d'orange

and chocolate fondant

with a rich selection of fromages

from every region of France

to let you feel joie de vivre

because you’re mon garçon

So, kiss my peach lips

and put your fingers in my chestnut hair blown by the wind

Turn me into blanquette de veau

consumed for dinner

and jog my memory

with the smart book you read

Cover me with sapphire words

and spray me with deep notes of parfum

Find yourself in my flared citrine dress

This is why I am here

with my naked white alabaster arms and le décolleté

asking you to hold on to that

one moment in human history

of hollow laugh

transformed in a storm

with dark blue almost black clouds and a thunder

*

15 May 2021

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

inspirationallove poemssocial commentarysurreal poetryvintage
3

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.