Poets logo

Light the Way

Or Live in Darkness

By Miles CooperPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

With darkness on top of darkness

How can we find the light?

Everything that we say and do

Only sparks a fight

Black Lives Matter

And yes all lives do too

But what it all boils down to

Is who’s shooting who?

Riots in the streets

Protests in the parks

How can we see the light

When everything is so dark?

I can’t breath

I’m suffocating from all the hate

And from the knowledge that

If we all just practiced love

America would truly be great

But we can’t see past the colors of our skin

So at the end of this fight no one can win

I had a dream

And I have a wish

That we could all stand united

In a true state of bliss

So let the light inside you

Shine through the darkness

Because darkness can not drive out darkness, only light can do that

And hate can not drive out hate, only love can do that

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Miles Cooper

I am more than just a writer, I am a voice waiting to be heard. I am more than just a face in the crowd, I am an army ready to take over the world. My time is now, because if not now then when...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.