Poets logo

Ligaments and Heartstrings

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Ligaments and Heartstrings
Photo by Larry Crayton on Unsplash

Let go of the stigma

My mind is an enigma

The battles wadged

All the sides debated

Reasons for self loathing to defend

Between my head, heart, and rib,

It’s a cadge match

The common thread-

Conform

Content

Comply

What actions are left to justify

With a tug, and a pull,

On my heart strings

You dibble

You dabble

Within irrational behavior

Out and about with a hoodie

Trying

To get a part of myself back

My arms feel like pool noodles

My feet feel like weighted lure

For sure

In the light, I cast a line

Out in the deep,

Where dog fish shark sleep

The line “ clicks “

forty pulls,

Below

Wait,

Sink

Nibble,

Just a tug and a pull

On my ligaments and heart strings

I know the drill

Keep you’re hands where I can see them

I can’t breathe...

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.