Poets logo

Life…

What A Bitch

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
6
Life…
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I don’t know what the hell it is that you want from me

This thing - we are living is consuming my peace

Having intense - internal conflicts, and life altering dreams

About my dead mother living, giving advice to me

***

The dream only gets worse - for effects, maybe better

I’m serving dinner to your crazy, manipulating, ex lover

The one you divorced me for, when she learned she was pregnant

Because faithfulness and loyalty are considered malignant

***

I know it’s just a dream, we have only met once

I met her as she stopped by one day- to pick up your son

The one that I help raise, and he’s calling me mom

While she still sends naked pictures to your phone

Do you think I am dumb?

***

22 years younger than me, but I’m supposed to be past it

That alone destroyed my confidence and made me feel like shit

Left to figure it out, all alone like an outcast

But I am finally getting better, beginning to move past it

***

So, I guess I should thank you for showing me what I’m made of

I may be getting older, but my heart is full of love

For this boy in my life- I would never have met

If I had remained your wife and we were still playing pretend

surreal poetry
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Great poetry, I can see this being a song for real 💗

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Not an easy thing to get through on your own, but I hope you know that you're worth it. Love that out of all this pain is the joy of getting to be with that sweet little boy :) Sending big hug to you!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is so raw and honest. I think it shows bravery and strength to even be willing to share. I'm glad you got that little blue-eyed beauty in your life. I know, from previously pieces you've shared, how much he means to you. Hugs.

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    Hi Kelli! Your poem is very soul-baring and touching. I think I'm among a lot of women who know how this feels, so it reached me on a personal level. I'm glad that over time these things do heal, but sometimes it is hard to get past them while you're going through them. VERY well written, and great timing!

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.