Poets logo

Life's Ever-changing Boulevard

The wonder of life's infinite potentials that stem from the smallest interaction

By Rae JanneyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Won’t you take a walk with me

Waltz with me

As we stroll down life’s ever-changing

Boulevard?

Will you skip stones with me

Dance with me

When the wind passes by?

Sway with me in your arms

as the leaves change hue

and autumn as said her goodbyes?

Will you keep me warm

When the wind grows cold?

We can whisper secrets by the fire.

Tell each other stories

That had never been told.

When the snow has thawed

And the rains are gone

Will you roll in the grass with me

Laugh with me

While we bask in the sun?

Will you kiss me among the wildflowers?

Your hands like the tall-grass

laced in mine

and lips like roses

We can pass the time

We can watch the clouds,

the sun,

and the moon go by.

Will you pause and breathe with me?

The fresh air-

The salt air

so humid and sweet.

We can trace our footsteps through the sand

Just as we traced them in the snow.

In the mud.

In the streets

When we took a walk through life and its ever-changing

Boulevard.

Though it wasn’t always pleasant,

Wasn’t always as sweet.

With pot-holes and closures.

If we could go back to that very first day,

Would you still take a walk with me?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Rae Janney

A Behavioral Neuroscience major with a passion for writing. My predominant writing style is surreal poetry, and most of my pieces touch upon mental health- TW included. My goal with my writing to end the stigma of mental illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.