Poets logo

Life is a bitch -- my darling

a spoof on a generic Italian melodrama

By Irina PattersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
photo by the author, Irina Patterson

Life is a bitch

But make that two,

My Darling,

Because I’m too!

And the two of us

stand strong!

. . .

So, take that purple thong

I found in our bed,

And stick it to...

You know where.

And go on with your affair.

. . .

I’m not crying.

See my finger?

Err, my leg!

Just don’t beg

me, later on,

to take you back.

. . .

Finito! Buster!

Now, go on

and eat her pasta.

I'll take care of myself

-- myself!

. . .

Don't worry,

I won't mope

around like a dope

while you're gone.

I'll be just fine!

In fact, I might even

enjoy being alone for a change!

. . .

Now, go get her!

She’s waiting there for you

With that alluring smile,

All decked out in white

She’s ready and willing

to be with you!

Me -- not so much!

"Mi scusi" (sorry)

-- by Irina Patterson, December 14, 2021

video clip by the author, Irina Patterson

. . .

Thank you, you can find more of my writing here. Love, Irina

performance poetry

About the Creator

Irina Patterson

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Irina PattersonWritten by Irina Patterson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.