Poets logo

I wish we dance again -- my hand is in your hand

The simple pleasure of being present

By Irina PattersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
image credit: https://pixabay.com/illustrations/tango-watercolor-dance-dancers-6099452/

I wish we dance again,

my hand is in your hand.

The simple pleasure

of being present,

accepting every motion

as a gift

and futter like

a morning butterfly.

. . .

That dance would lift me up

above the nonsense,

dissolving world

around us as useless.

For then I had the music

and your hands

that led me anyplace

they wanted.

. . .

What was the magic

of your spell?

Why did I give myself

completely over?

Without asking

nothing in return,

except for music

never to be stopped?

. . .

Why pleasure's flitting

Like a breath of wind?

And why we know

Nothing in advance?

And why my memory

forever playing

how you're laughing

and spinning me in dance.

-- Irina Patterson, August 18, 2020

. . .

Thank you, you can find more of my writing here. Love, Irina

performance poetry

About the Creator

Irina Patterson

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Irina PattersonWritten by Irina Patterson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.