Poets logo

Life House

Imperfect places that led us home

By Louise R.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Art by Author

A paper cut.

The finger that slithered down the picture book.

The one she read so many times before.

Now she read the red that bubbled up.

Both of us suddenly sore.

The tears that swelled and broke the dam.

Ran passed the finish line of chin.

The bandage sweetly hugged my thumb.

She stole the world of it's sin.

Feathers that flew in heated lashings of the tongue.

The shame I feel when I remember

Feeling glad that it had stung.

The rock that was my head sat heavy as I wept.

But she was stronger than the words.

She could carry my regret.

Thumbing the weathered coin for bravery.

Before I stepped out on the stage.

Feeling it's prayer beneath my skin

The calm of our shared pain.

Decades apart

Our solace in fear had met.

And in our church of yearning.

She dared for me to bet.

We were strangers once.

Years of rearing had sewn a drift.

Paths would cross again in transit.

As oldies drew up the rift.

We saw our likeness through the lens.

That only music can give.

Mirrors to each other's child

Still learning our own language.

Trying to forgive.

A million miles passed

Sun beams trace their fingers

On the corners of her house.

Cobwebs swept away by spring

Leisure curling the corners of our mouths.

Gossiping pastel blues and topiary trees.

Raking the lawn

Retreating from the bees.

Her heart sat on the porch swing

On fire in the breeze.

Offering my hand

I help her upon her bones.

Her unwavering spirit stands

In her heart there is my home.

love poems
5

About the Creator

Louise R.

I've always written. Mostly poetry and stream of thought. I don't expect to get much recognition and that's okay, I just want to have a place to purge myself creatively and constructively.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.