Poets logo

LIFE

unknown meaning

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
LIFE
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Remember as a child, wanting to grow up?

Yeah it makes me wanna throw up.

Being so young and thinking your life would blow up?

Well, go ahead and put that scroll up.

Here’s a needle and thread,

Let’s get those wounds sewn up.

Man how I wish someone would have spoken up.

And I don’t mean “enjoy being a kid trust me”

Because as a child, watching you drink a beer and smoke at the parties looked pretty great!

Right? It must be.

I know my lines are kinda rusty

but my thoughts have gotten a lil mixed up after I tried to wash them.

Nah it doesn’t work, those thoughts aren’t any cleaner, look at em, still dusty.

Especially when life isn’t what you thought it was gonna be.

Some one please explain how the evolution of one’s life involves learning that there is no such thing as trust.

Your group of friends are looking a little robust, you might wanna try to adjust because those you thought you could entrust teach you distrust.

They may as well have spit right in your face. My only facial expression’s now are ‘disgust’.

I’m disgusted in the fact that I let you in my head.

Yeah your that “used to be” friend.

But your still the equivalent of the use to be bitch in my bed.

A cheater and a liar,

But, I hopped on that train and went full speed ahead.

That’s when I was taught heartbreak.

Well, more of a heart-quake.

It was as if I were driving on an island surrounded by a lake and someone cut my car breaks.

And without realizing it, you carry the hurt and no trusting until you teach someone else the meaning of heartbreak.

That’s not the only pain that life teaches you as you grow, but it’s an example.

Just like if you have kids with someone and it doesn’t work out, be ready to go to court and take a hair sample.

No trust, no love.

We sing our kids nursery rhymes for comfort,

Not even knowing most are about manslaughter,

Why don’t we just tell them what life really is, “don’t let people fool you, you just live life sans autre”

Well, Maybe slightly less truth, because with truth comes hurt, and I’m still trying to protect my daughter.

Know the difference between evolution and pollution.

This world is trashed by people

Our own society is worse then any war, battle, or revolution.

So instead of trying to pinpoint blame,

Let’s try to find the solution.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.