Poets logo

My brother

Much love

By Brittany OdomPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My brother
Photo by Yujia Tang on Unsplash

A letter of encouragement to Danny, my little brother,

To begin with, we are three years apart,

But I respect him like no other.

Man where to start?

Well, we have the same father, same mother.

I’ve got stories for days about how we came out the gutter.

Just like any other siblings we fought a lot,

But only I can, you can’t.

I don’t even play baseball but just know imma slugger.

Say his name in the wrong way I turn into that little boy drummer,

and a bitch knows better.

But If she did then Her new name would be grass and I was the cutter,

But thank god for kandice, I’m happy he got her.

Again thank you kandice, had to say it twice just in case I stuttered.

But before I get to the current,

Let’s rewind in the past,

I can remember atleast two different occasions when he chased me around with a knife at the house, as if he owned it, and I was a non paying merchant.

I laugh every time I think about it now, but as an adult, I think he just needed a lot of love and attention that he didn’t get.

If you don’t understand, then just think of it like urgent care but without the urgent.

That four letter word left over is what he needed and trust me he deserved it.

But back then I can’t remember the love, just the shitty step father who filled his mouth with hotsauce and dish detergent.

🖕2 middle fingers up to Randall Kirkland 🖕

And as for everyone else, what? He had to grow up and join the marines for him to earn it?

Nah, keep it and consider yourself a divergent.

And Danny, if I could only say one thing that concerns our past, it would be an apology.

Because even though I always had your back, I was still mean.

If I knew what I know now, a better sister is what I’d try to be.

But to me the human race is like the study of ethology.

Put on a front in public or social media, but at home “family” has a double meaning.

If I owe anyone anything it would be you, change my status to obligee.

If you get anything out of this poem, i hope it’s to remember to stay humble.

Most children ain’t been through it, or seen there ma O.D.

People couldn’t take half of what we went through,

So if you pass the ball, just consider it a fumble.

For most it would make them just like me,

a little mentally unstable.

But YOU, my little brother, took the tumble and turned it into a temple!

You seen what the world was giving you and turned it into something so much better!

You crawled out the gutter,

went to school like you were supposed too, met a beautiful girl to spend your life with,

and you removed all the junk and clutter from it.

You are stronger then what you believe,

trust me,

that even I can see.

I love you with all my heart and can’t wait to be at your wedding, happy, and dancing.

And when that day gets here,

try to remember as far back as you can at THAT little Danny.

THAT little Danny is a legend to be.

Love you bro, still always have your back,

-Brittany

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Odom

I just write how I feel, and let the pen talk for me. I can’t express my feelings verbally, so I write poetry. If I wanted any outcome from writing, it would be that one of my stories might help someone with their issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.